In 1848 Joseph Parker (of City Temple, London) had preached on the village green, thus promoting a Christian presence which still thrives today under the guidance of Wall Christian Council.
Wall has its village green bounded on all four sides by houses and three farms. The three exits from the green could, at one time, be gated thus allowing cattle and sheep to graze on the green and the village to be defended against Border raiders. A pant, dated 1858, in the centre of the green was the original water supply and is fed by a stream flowing from the fell to the east of the village. The ruin of a Bronze Age camp can be seen at the top of the fell.
Many of the houses and farms date back to the 16th and 17th centuries whilst there is also a small estate of modern houses built in 1989. Town Farm boasts a listed Dutch barn whilst there are listed houses which were once bastles. The bulk of the village is now a conservation area.
Food Standards Agency national food hygiene rating scheme.
The Hadrian Hotel was awarded the maximum 5 stars out of 5 for food hygiene.